September 17th, 2019

St. Petersburg Introduces Free E-Visas for European & Other Foreign Travelers

According to Russia Beyond, starting October 1, 2019, tourists can visit Russia’s cultural capital and the surrounding region by e-visa, with no consular fees.

Following a new decree seeking to lighten the bureaucratic load of entering and departing the Russian Federation for foreigners, travelers heading to Russia for tourist, humanitarian or business reasons can visit Peter the Great's former imperial capital by applying online for a free visa, which will be valid for 30 days, and allow an eight-day stay in Saint Petersburg and the surrounding Leningrad Region.

Applicants need to fill out a form on the website of the consular department of the Russian Foreign Ministry and upload a photograph. The application can be made no later than four and no earlier than 20 days before the expected date of entry.

In early July, e-visas for travel to Kaliningrad and Kaliningrad Region were introduced for citizens of 53 countries. A similar scheme is in operation for Vladivostok and airports across the whole of Russia’s Far Eastern Federal District.

List of countries whose citizens can apply for an e-visa to St Petersburg: 

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • China (including Taiwan)
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korean People’s Democratic Republic
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lichtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San-Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • The Czech Republic
  • The Netherlands
  • The Philippines
  • Turkey
  • Vatican

For additional questions we are here to help! Please contact your Global DMC Partners Sales Advisor or